UA Ruhr News Center

10. 04. 2024

International Advisory Board Appointed

The new International Advisory Board advises the University Alliance Ruhr on its long-term strategic planning.

Six renowned experts from Europe, Asia and North America have been appointed to the International Advisory Board of the University Alliance Ruhr (UA Ruhr), which was set up in early April 2024. The Board supports the UA Ruhr in its long-term strategic planning, particularly with regard to its ongoing internationalization strategy.

“We are delighted to have won such distinguished experts from the international academic community for this role,” commented the Rectors of Ruhr University Bochum, Professor Martin Paul, of TU Dortmund University, Professor Manfred Bayer, and of the University of Duisburg-Essen, Professor Barbara Albert. “Their expertise and know-how will provide us with valuable insights as we strive to make the University Alliance Ruhr even more international.”

Martin Stratmann elected chairman
The new committee elected Professor Martin Stratmann, former president of the Max Planck Society, as its first chairman. “The Ruhr region is already a major science and innovation hub. The cooperation of the three Ruhr universities in a long-term research alliance will raise the international profile of these strengths and make the area even more attractive – with significant implications for the entire region,” he says.

Members of the International Advisory Board: Martin Stratmann, Louise O. Fresco, Rocky Tuan, Makoto Gonokami, Susan M. Kauzlarich and Daniel Diermeier.
Members of the International Advisory Board: Martin Stratmann, Louise O. Fresco, Rocky Tuan, Makoto Gonokami, Susan M. Kauzlarich and Daniel Diermeier.
© UA Ruhr IAB

In addition to Stratmann, the following experts are members of the International Advisory Board:

  • Professor Daniel Diermeier, (USA), Chancellor of Vanderbilt University, Nashville
  • Professor Louise O. Fresco, (Netherlands), former President of Wageningen University
  • Professor Makoto Gonokami, (Japan), President of RIKEN, former President of the University of Tokyo
  • Professor Susan M. Kauzlarich, (USA), University of California, Davis
  • Professor Rocky Tuan, (Hong Kong), Vice-Chancellor and President of the Chinese University of Hong Kong

The members of the International Advisory Board are renowned and experienced researchers resp. scientific managers, who hold or have held prominent positions at their respective universities and/or research institutions. In their advisory role, they are tasked with reviewing both new and existing strategic decisions for the UA Ruhr, as well as international benchmarking. Most importantly, the Board advises on the positioning of UA Ruhr within the framework of the Excellence Strategy and provides valuable insights from different higher education systems and fields of experience.

Ruhr University Bochum, TU Dortmund University and the University of Duisburg-Essen took the first steps towards joint internationalization around 20 years ago when they opened their first liaison office in New York. Today, the UA Ruhr has more than 1,100 international academics and offers over 60 international Master's degree courses.