

# Framework Cooperation Agreement regarding the University Alliance Ruhr between Ruhr-Universität Bochum, TU Dortmund University and University of Duisburg-Essen

### **Preamble**

Since their foundation, the three large universities in the Ruhr Area have developed into high-performance educational and research institutes. They are significant drivers for the knowledge and information society and assume great responsibility for the social and economic development of the entire region. At the same time, they show their commitment in various ways to face national and international competition as regards the latest scientific findings and technological innovations, and provide answers to social questions concerning the future.

Following the motto "three universities, one community, endless opportunities", Ruhr-Universität Bochum, TU Dortmund University and University of Duisburg-Essen formed the University Alliance Ruhr in 2007. They bundle their complementary strengths, thus forming an efficient and highly visible university network amidst the scientific landscape.

On the basis of their latest version of the framework cooperation agreement presented here, these three universities continue to rewrite their mutually successful story.

## § 1 Objective of the University Alliance Ruhr

- (1) Ruhr-Universität Bochum, TU Dortmund University and University of Duisburg-Essen form the university network "University Alliance Ruhr" (UA Ruhr) with retention of legal autonomy for the member universities.
- (2) The member universities cooperate as *UA Ruhr* in a trilateral or bilateral function in various scientific and/or university fields of activity (cf. § 4).
- (3) The UA Ruhr forms the platform for the joint public appearance.

## § 2 Coordination Board

(1) The Coordination Board is composed of: the rectors as well as chancellors of the respective member universities.



- (2) The three member universities take decisions through the Coordination Board. For concrete development of its resolutions, the Board can form topic-related working groups with representatives from all of the member universities. The Coordination Board forwards its resolutions to the respective committees in the member universities for further consultation.
- (3) The UA Ruhr maintains an administrative office. This supports the work of the Coordination Board and the implementation of the resolutions in collaboration with the respectively competent institutions of the member universities.

### § 3 Research Council

- (1) Regarding questions involving cross-location research cooperation, the Coordination Board is advised by a Research Council.
- (2) The Research Council consists of: four designated scientists and/or scholars from each of the three member universities from all of the major scientific areas. They are appointed by the respective rectorates for a time-span of four years; a one-off renewed appointment is possible. Furthermore, the Research Council consists of the vice-rectors for research in the member universities.

# § 4 Fields of Activity for the Cooperation

- (1) The member universities support in principle the UA Ruhr-based cooperation plans of their academic staff, students as well the employees in technology and administration.
- (2) **Research:** Outstanding joint research areas within the member universities form "UA Ruhr Flagship Programs", while ambitious research areas represent "UA Ruhr Competence Areas". The Coordination Board makes decisions regarding recognition of a research area as UA Ruhr Flagship Program or UA Ruhr Competence Area on the basis of suggestions from the Research Council.
- (3) **Support for junior researchers:** Within the UA Ruhr, the member universities together develop and maintain high standards of quality concerning support for junior researchers. Coordination of respective joint activities takes place within the framework of the Research Academy Ruhr.
- (4) **Teaching and studying:** The member universities further develop the joint educational region of the UA Ruhr according to need. Particularly in the Master's degree phase, they offer complementary or joint degree programs. The study programs within the member universities are, in principle, open to all students of UA Ruhr.
- (5) **Internationalization:** The member universities are internationally networked in multiple manners. As UA Ruhr, they operate international liaison offices for the promotion and intensification of their international contacts and cooperation.



- (6) **Equal opportunity and diversity:** The member universities promote equal opportunity and diversity at all levels of career development from entry into the study program to professorship.
- (7) **Development planning:** The member universities coordinate according to proposals made by the Research Council concerning joint UA Ruhr Flagship Programs and UA Ruhr Competence Areas. They inform one another concerning their respective university developmental planning. During the appointment procedure of one member university, specialist representatives from the other respective member universities are included, as a rule, in the proceedings. The member universities are allowed to establish mutual facilities on the basis of the prevailing legal provisions.
- (8) **Infrastructures and administrative processes:** The member universities share the usage of infrastructures wherever it is sensible and possible. They together develop and/or align administrative processes for cross-locational administrative matters and services.

# § 5 Mercator Research Center Ruhr (MERCUR)

Mercator Research Center Ruhr (MERCUR), mutually sustained by the Mercator Foundation and the member universities of the UA Ruhr, promotes cooperation within the University Alliance. With diverse programs for the funding of stimulus, individuals, projects, structures and strategies, MERCUR provides everything from targeted support of concrete projects through to strategy development.

## § 6 Adoption and Alteration of the Agreement

Concerning the adoption and alteration of this Framework Cooperation Agreement, the rectorates of the member universities make decisions based on suggestions from the Coordination Board.

Bochum, Dortmund and Duisburg-Essen, February 23, 2017

The Rector of Ruhr-Universität Bochum

Prof. Dr. Axel Schölmerich The Rector of TU Dortmund University

Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. Ursula Gather The Rector of University of Duisburg-Essen

Prof. Dr. Ulrich Radtke