University Alliance Ruhr

The UA Ruhr is an alliance between Ruhr University Bochum, TU Dortmund University, and the University of Duisburg-Essen, the three largest universities in Germany’s thriving Ruhr Area. Each of our institutions has a strong tradition of breaking down walls between disciplines. We believe in the benefits of collaboration on all levels of scholarship and research, which is one of the reasons we came together in this unique university alliance.

The Three Universities Affiliated in University Alliance Ruhr


On March 12, 2007, the three partner universities Bochum, Dortmund and Duisburg-Essen consolidated as University Alliance Ruhr in order to bundle their respective competencies and resources and to continuously optimize their performance and competitiveness – following the principle “three universities, one community, endless opportunities”. The UA Ruhr’s success has been amply demonstrated, as numerous Collaborative Research Centres and Research Training Groups have been established under its umbrella. In addition to research and teaching excellence, all three UA Ruhr universities strongly promote transfer, equal opportunities, family-friendly workplace environment, environmental protection, sustainability, and health.

Learn more about the three universities and their individual strengths and research profiles below:

Since its foundation in 1965 as the Ruhr’s first university, Ruhr-Universität Bochum (RUB) has grown into an organization with a strong research focus. It integrates the full range of scientific and research disciplines under one roof and, with its dedicated future strategy, explores avenues of innovation in academia. The Ruhr-Universität’s mission “Creating Knowledge Networks” is realized in numerous intra-disciplinary, interdisciplinary and transdisciplinary collaborations. These collaborations are embedded into the RUB Research Departments:

•    Solvation Science
•    IT Security
•    Neuroscience
•    Materials Research Department
•    Center for Religious Studies
•    Protein Research Department
•    Plasmas with Complex Interactions
•    Subsurface Modeling and Engineering
•    Closed Carbon Cycle Economy
•    Interfacial Systems Chemistry

The Research Department “Solvation Science” is part of the Cluster of Excellence “Ruhr Explores Solvation” (RESOLV) – a joint undertaking with the partner universities Dortmund and Duisburg-Essen.
In order to provide best possible conditions for top-level research, RUB has acquired grants for four new research buildings to date:

•    ZEMOS – Centre for Molecular Spectroscopy and Simulation of Solvent-Directed Processes
•    ZGH – Center for Interface-Dominated High-Performance Materials
•    ProDi – Centre for Molecular Protein Diagnostics
•    ZESS – Centre for Engineering of Smart Product Service Systems

A detailed portrait as well as current facts and figures can be found at the RUB homepage.

Researching nature, educating people, facing technological challenges, and shaping the cultural and societal changes associated therewith: these are the core competencies of TU Dortmund University.
According to its founding charter, TU Dortmund University is deeply committed to interdisciplinary cooperation between natural and engineering sciences on the one hand and social and cultural studies on the other hand and fosters their specific research and teaching cultures.

At the intersection between disciplines in the four major branches of science, namely engineering & computer sciences, natural sciences, social studies, and cultural studies, innovative synergy potentials for research are exploited and an up-to-the-minute educational approach is established. This is first and foremost reflected in the TU Dortmund’s interdisciplinary collaborations, such as LogistikCampus or the Integrated Research Center for Active Pharmaceutical Ingredients. These joint undertakings are embedded into the four profile areas, where research excellence is produced across disciplinary borders that is best-in-class on an international level:

•    Materials, Production Technology and Logistics
•    Chemical Biology, Drug Research and Process Engineering
•    Data Analysis, Modeling and Simulation
•    Education, Schooling and Inclusion

In order to ensure interdisciplinary and cross-faculty networking, TU Dortmund University operates central research institutions that provide a wealth of services for research and education:

•    Dortmunder Kompetenzzentrum für Lehrerbildung und Lehr-/Lernforschung (DoKoLL)
•    Sozialforschungsstelle Dortmund (sfs)
•    DELTA – Center for Synchrotron Radiation at TU Dortmund University
•    Center for Higher Education (zhb)

The Dortmund technology park is situated in close vicinity to the TU Dortmund campus and houses approx. 300 enterprises. It covers the full range of information and communication technology, biomedicine, microtechnology and nanotechnology, as well as production and manufacturing technology. Located in the technology park, TechnologieZentrumDortmund provides excellent conditions for high-tech startups and young enterprises.

Current data, facts & figures are available on TU Dortmund homepage.

According to its principle, the University of Duisburg-Essen (UDE) thinks in terms of opportunities rather than in terms of limitations and considers itself a unit comprised of all disciplines and all its members. With regard to research, education and management, UDE is committed to national and international standards in order to fulfil its educational mandate and to promote the Ruhr’s structural transformation.
The UDE’s research spectrum comprises four cross-faculty clusters, organized in the following profile areas:

•    Nanoscience
•    Biomedical Sciences
•    The Future of Urban Systems
•    Transformation of Contemporary Societies

A number of Central Scientific Institutes ensure and boost outstanding research performance. The Institutes thus help raise the UDE’s profile and play a crucial role in making it an attractive and vibrant science hub. The Institutes include:

•    CENIDE – Center for Nanointegration Duisburg-Essen
•    IN-EAST – Institute of East Asian Studies
•    ZMB – Centre for Medical Biotechnology
•    ZWU – Centre for Water and Environmental Research

The University of Duisburg-Essen lives up to its principle of maintaining a union between research and education, in accordance with the fundamental idea of “university”. Optimum study and work conditions are ensured throughout all disciplines and at all degree levels, in order to foster science and research-based academic education.
UDE considers the heterogeneity of its student body and members of staff a great chance and nurtures productive diversity by implementing dedicated Diversity Management measures. Diversity is understood to promote both educational justice and excellence. Gender equality is an integral part of this policy.

An overview of detailed facts and figures is provided at the UDE homepage.

Die UA Ruhr

In der Universitätsallianz Ruhr arbeiten die Ruhr-Universität Bochum, die Technische Universität Dortmund und die Universität Duisburg-Essen seit 2007 strategisch eng zusammen. Mit mehr als 120.000 Studierenden und nahezu 1.300 Professorinnen und Professoren gehört die UA Ruhr zu den größten und leistungsstärksten Wissenschaftsstandorten Deutschlands.

Die drei Universitäten der UA Ruhr


Die drei Partneruniversitäten Bochum, Dortmund und Duisburg-Essen haben sich am 12. März 2007 in der Universitätsallianz Ruhr zusammengeschlossen, um die jeweiligen Kompetenzen und Ressourcen zu bündeln und gemäß dem Motto „gemeinsam besser“ ihre Leistungs- und Wettbewerbsfähigkeit weiter auszubauen. Der Erfolg der UA Ruhr zeigt sich in zahlreichen Sonderforschungsbereichen und Graduiertenkollegs. Neben dem Fokus auf exzellente Forschung und Lehre engagieren sich alle drei UA Ruhr-Universitäten in den Bereichen Transfer, Gleichstellung, Familienfreundlichkeit, Umwelt, Nachhaltigkeit und Gesundheit.

Im Folgenden stellen wir die einzelnen Universitäten mit ihren Stärken und Forschungsprofilen vor:

Die Ruhr-Universität Bochum (RUB) wurde 1965 als erste Universität im Ruhrgebiet eröffnet und hat sich seitdem zu einer forschungsstarken Universität entwickelt. Sie vereint die gesamte Bandbreite der wissenschaftlichen Disziplinen und geht innovative Wege mit ihrem Zukunftskonzept in der Lehre. Die Mission der Ruhr-Universität Bochum lautet „Creating Knowledge Networks“, die in zahlreichen intra-, inter- und transdisziplinären Kooperationen verwirklicht wird. Diese Kooperationen sind in die Forschungsschwerpunkte der RUB eingebettet:

•    Solvation Science
•    IT-Sicherheit
•    Neuroscience
•    Materials Research Department
•    Centrum für religionswissenschaftliche Studien
•    Protein Research Department
•    Plasmas with complex interactions
•    Subsurface Modeling and Engineering
•    Closed Carbon Cycle Economy
•    Interfacial Systems Chemistry

Innerhalb des Forschungsschwerpunktes „Solvation Science“ ist das Exzellenzcluster „Ruhr Explores Solvation“ (RESOLV) angesiedelt, an dem auch die Partneruniversitäten Dortmund und Duisburg-Essen beteiligt sind.
Um der Spitzenforschung bestmögliche Bedingungen zu bieten, hat die RUB vier Forschungsbauten einwerben können:

•    ZEMOS – Zentrum für molekulare Spektroskopie und Simulation solvensgesteuerter Prozesse
•    ZGH – Zentrum für Grenzflächendominierte Höchstleistungswerkstoffe
•    ProDi – Zentrum für molekulare Proteindiagnostik
•    ZESS – Zentrum für das Engineering Smarter Produkt-Service-Systeme

Auf der Homepage der RUB gibt es ein ausführliches Porträt sowie aktuelle Zahlen und Fakten.

Natur zu erforschen, Menschen zu bilden, technische Herausforderungen anzunehmen und den damit verbundenen kulturellen und gesellschaftlichen Wandel unserer Gesellschaft mitzugestalten: dies sind die Kernaufgaben der Technischen Universität (TU) Dortmund. Die TU Dortmund ist nach ihrem Gründungsauftrag der fächerübergreifenden Kooperation zwischen den Natur-/Technikwissenschaften und den Gesellschafts-/Kulturwissenschaften und ihren je besonderen Kulturen in Forschung und Lehre verpflichtet.

Im Zusammenwirken von Fächern der vier großen Wissenschaftsbereiche Ingenieurswissenschaften und Informatik, Naturwissenschaften, Gesellschaftswissenschaften sowie Kulturwissenschaften werden innovative Synergiepotenziale in der Forschung erschlossen und ein moderner Zuschnitt in der Ausbildung erreicht. Dies zeigt sich v.a. in den interdisziplinären Kooperationen der TU Dortmund, wie z.B. dem LogistikCampus oder dem Zentrum für integrierte Wirkstoffforschung. Diese sind in die vier Profilbereiche integriert, in denen über die Grenzen der Fachdisziplinen hinweg in erheblicher Breite Forschungsleistungen auf international herausragendem Niveau erbracht werden:

•    Material, Produktionstechnologie und Logistik
•    Chemische Biologie, Wirkstoffe und Verfahrenstechnik
•    Datenanalyse, Modellbildung und Simulation
•    Bildung, Schule und Inklusion

Zur fach- und fakultätsübergreifenden Vernetzung stellt die TU Dortmund zentrale wissenschaftliche Einrichtungen mit verschiedensten Dienstleistungen und Serviceangeboten für Forschung und Lehre bereit:

•    Dortmunder Kompetenzzentrum für Lehrerbildung und Lehr-/Lernforschung (DoKoLL)
•    Sozialforschungsstelle Dortmund (sfs)
•    DELTA – Zentrum für Synchrotronstrahlung der Technischen Universität Dortmund
•    Zentrum für HochschulBildung (zhb)

Der Dortmunder Technologiepark liegt in unmittelbarer Nähe zum Campus der TU Dortmund und beherbergt nahezu 300 Unternehmen. Die Bandbreite reicht von der Informations- und Kommunikationstechnologie über die Biomedizin und Mikro-/ Nanotechnologie bis hin zur Produktions- und Fertigungstechnik. Das dort angesiedelte TechnologieZentrumDortmund bietet hervorragende Startbedingungen für Hightech Startups und junge Unternehmen.
 
Auf der Homepage der TU Dortmund gibt es mehr aktuelle Zahlen, Daten und Fakten.

Gemäß ihrem Motto denkt die Universität Duisburg-Essen (UDE) in Möglichkeiten statt in Grenzen und versteht sich als Einheit aller Disziplinen und aller Mitglieder. In Forschung, Lehre und Management verpflichtet sich die UDE nationalen und internationalen Standards, um ihren Bildungsauftrag zu erfüllen und den Strukturwandel der Region erfolgreich mitzugestalten.
Das Forschungsspektrum der UDE umfasst vier als Profilschwerpunkte definierte, fakultätsübergreifende Cluster:

•    Nanowissenschaften
•    Biomedizinische Wissenschaften
•    Die Zukunft urbaner Systeme
•    Wandel von Gegenwartsgesellschaften

In verschiedenen Forschungszentren werden exzellenten Forschungsleistungen erbracht. Die Zentren unterstützen die Profilierung der UDE und tragen zu einem attraktiven und lebendigen Wissenschaftsstandort bei. Dabei sind u.a. zu nennen:

•    CENIDE – Center for Nanointegration Duisburg-Essen
•    IN-EAST – Institut für Ostasienwissenschaften
•    ZMB – Zentrum für Medizinische Biotechnologie
•    ZWU – Zentrum für Wasser- und Umweltforschung

Die Universität Duisburg-Essen hält an der universitären Einheit von Forschung und Lehre fest. In allen Fächern und auf allen Studienstufen werden optimale Studien- und Arbeitsbedingungen geschaffen, um eine wissenschafts- und forschungsbasierte akademische Lehre anzubieten.
Die Heterogenität der Studierenden und MitarbeiterInnen betrachtet die UDE als Chance und fördert die produktive Vielfalt durch Maßnahmen des Diversity Managements. Diversität wird sowohl als Beitrag zur Bildungsgerechtigkeit als auch zur Exzellenz verstanden. Die Geschlechtergerechtigkeit ist hierbei ein integraler Bestandteil.


Auf der Homepage der UDE gibt es noch mehr Daten und Fakten im Überblick.