Equal opportunities and diversity

Fostering equal opportunities and diversity is one of the UA Ruhr’s key objectives. Part of the strategy is removing all barriers, in order to attract the best brains to the Ruhr science hub.

Successful equal opportunity policy

Stephen Coburn @ fotolia.de   

The universities affiliated under UA Ruhr provide best opportunities to academics for individual career development. For the successful implementation of equal opportunities strategies, the UA Ruhr universities have been repeatedly awarded in the context of the DFG’s Research-Oriented Standards on Gender Equality and the Women Professor Program implemented by the Federal Ministry of Education and Research. Visible proof of a successful equal opportunities policy is the percentage of women academics in all areas of research and teaching, which has been on an upward trajectory at UA Ruhr over the last ten years and has risen to approx. 38%, as well as the percentage of women professors, which has seen the same dynamic growth and currently amounts to approx. 25%.

Equal opportunities at UA Ruhr cover a broad spectrum, apply to all stages of the academic career, and are protected by reliable structures. Together, the UA Ruhr universities have broken new ground: with its mentoring3 program module that has been running for over a decade, the Science Career Net Ruhr has become the first personnel development program for women researchers in Germany’s academic landscape under joint responsibility; it is now complemented by the Dual Career Network Ruhr.

Daycare centers, short-term and holiday care, as well as parent service offices support families no matter what their circumstances. Gender Studies established at UA Ruhr offer a broad academic foundation for nurturing equal opportunities and reflecting over social structures and processes with regard to gender aspects

Chancengleichheit und Vielfalt

 

Chancengleichheit und Vielfalt zu fördern ist ein zentrales Ziel der UA Ruhr. Dazu gehört, alle Barrieren abzubauen, um für die Wissenschaftsregion Ruhr die besten Köpfe zu gewinnen.

Erfolgreiche Gleichstellungspolitik

Stephen Coburn @ fotolia.de   

Die in der UA Ruhr zusammengeschlossenen Hochschulen bieten Wissenschaftlerinnen beste Möglichkeiten zur Entwicklung ihrer individuellen Karrieren. Für die erfolgreiche Umsetzung ihrer Gleichstellungsstrategien sind die Universitäten der UA Ruhr mehrfach im Rahmen der Forschungsorientierten Gleichstellungsstandards der DFG und des Professorinnenprogramms des BMBF ausgezeichnet worden. Sichtbarer Ausweis erfolgreicher Gleichstellungspolitik ist der in den vergangenen zehn Jahren in der UA Ruhr stark gestiegene Anteil von Nachwuchswissenschaftlerinnen in allen Forschungs- und Lehrbereichen (auf etwa 38 %) und ein sich ebenso dynamisch entwickelnder Professorinnenanteil von derzeit etwa 25 %.

Die Chancengleichheitsaktivitäten in der UA Ruhr sind breit gefächert, auf alle Stufen der akademischen Karriere ausgerichtet und durch verlässliche Strukturen gesichert. Gemeinsam haben die Universitäten der UA Ruhr zur Förderung von Nachwuchswissenschaftlerinnen Neuland betreten: Das Science Career Net Ruhr  bildet mit seinem bereits seit mehr als einem Jahrzehnt bestehenden Programmbaustein mentoring3 das erste kooperativ verantwortete Personalentwicklungsprogramm für Wissenschaftlerinnen in der deutschen Hochschullandschaft und wird durch das Dual Career Netzwerk Ruhr komplettiert. 

Kindertagesstätten, Angebote zur Kurzzeit- und Ferienbetreuung sowie Elternservicebüros unterstützen Familien in unterschiedlichen Lebenslagen. Die in der UA Ruhr etablierte Geschlechterforschung bietet eine breite wissenschaftliche Basis für die Entwicklung von Chancengleichheit und die Reflexion gesellschaftlicher Strukturen wie Prozesse unter Gender-Aspekten.